Divik Ramesh

Born in 1946 in Delhi, India, Professor Divik Ramesh (given name Ramesh Sharma) is prolific and an eminent Indian poet who writes in Hindi. He earned PhD in Hindi literature from University of Delhi and has been teaching at Delhi University since 1970. Now he is holding post of Principal (President) of Motilal Nehru College of the Delhi University. He was visiting professor of Hindi under cultural exchange program at Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Seoul, Korea from 1994 to 1997. His major works comprise 4 books (Raaste Kei Beech, Khuli Aakhon Mein Aakash, Haldi Chawal and Anya Kavitayein, Chotta Sa Hastakshep) of poems, one book of verse-play (Khand Khand Agni), and three books of research and critical essays (Naye Kaviyon Kei Kavya-Shilp-Siddhant, Kavita kei Beech Sei and Sakshat Trilochan).

He has also edited more than 5 books, of which Nishedh kei Baad is a collection of poems from 1970 till 1980. He is a renowned author of children's literature. Eight poetry collections, two collections of short stories, three books of folk tales and a book of memoirs are to his credit in this field.

His works have been translated into almost all of the Indian languages, Korean, Russian, and English. Feather is a collection of his poems translated into English. In Korean, his book of poems, Sai Dal Aie Gyol Hon (Bird's Wedding) was published in 1997 became the first book of Hindi poems in Korean. He himself has translated poems and articles of Korean, Russian, English, Bulgarian, Chinese etc. He has got published anthologies of Korean poetry translated by him in Hindi - Koryai Kavita-yatra (Ancient and Modern Korean poems) and The Day Breaks O! India (originally written by Kim Yang Shik) in 1999. A book of children's poems of Korea is also translated by him in Hindi and the same is published by N.B.T. in 2001. In 2000 a collection of selected Korean folk tales, which Ramesh translated into Hindi, was published.

He has been honored with a number of national and International distinguished awards, including the Soviet Land Nehru Award, Hindi Academy Award (two times), Girija Kumar Mathur Award, Prakash Vir Shashtri Samman (2002), the Hindi Academy's 'Sahityakar Sanman' (2003), and the N.C.E.R.T.'s National Children Award. His poems and short stories are being taught at school and University level throughout India. He is honorary General Secretary of Indo-Russian Literary Club.